Skip to content

Back….

December 30, 2015

I just can’t write the same title again…..or should I? 7 weeks ago, I wrote about getting back on the rails… and 7 weeks later I again feel the same.

The move, the Uni Intensive, the final very large assignment, the 3 Christmas gatherings hosted here, the 3 days of Christmas celebrations and all in 38+deg heat {our weather has been unseasonably hot this summer so far} has really knocked me about – so much so that yesterday I had a quick nap on the couch at 10:30am and again a catnap at 2:30pm while ‘watching’ the kids at the pool – not the safest thing to do!

Rewinding to discuss early on: After doing a few weeks of Bootcamp  – I was experiencing such incredible fatigue,  during the exercise session I just couldn’t catch my breath & just could.not keep going….I was also having catnaps on the couch at 4pm ish {unlike me}, sleeping in as I was just too tired to get up {again unlike me}, ‘holes’ in my memory and a pesky ongoing husky voice…. so I went to the Dr’s for blood tests. Which again, showed me to be a completely and perfectly healthy {overweight} person…. but with anemia.
So I began to take Iron tablets and while I did not notice feeling ‘so.much.better’, one day I noticed that the tiredness was not there anymore.

Then yesterday when talking to J about my tiredness – he questioned why the Iron tabs are no longer working…. and I realised that I have not taken one for over a week now. Aha!
That could be my problem… as I am having trouble getting up in the morning to exercise & have been feeling general lethargy – which I put down to finally having time to do nothing {which is great too!}.

So I begin again, I took one yesterday, and am about to take another. I am scheduled to take them for 3 months and then go back for blood tests again. I have swirling thoughts now, of what if’s, so I will put them aside and worry if there is something to worry about.

I have also begun again to eat normal food – good breakies, salads at lunch, good healthy dinners – fruit as snacks…. for the busy times for me can be tricky to eat regularly and there has been so many leftovers in our fridge that grabbing those to eat has been easier than thinking/making something healthier.
But now, just about everything crappy has been either eaten, or now just tossed out due to us really not needing it in our house anymore – and we can begin to reclaim some healthy habits.

One thing that is happening in 2016 is that J and I both turn 40.

Yikes that seems so unreal. I do not feel forty – but I look it.

So this year I really need, and want, and have to….. yeah the ‘drill’… it is well known & often said. But I do have to  – and I really need to – and I really want to.

40.

I know it is just a number. But still.

So, onward to a year of good health and good times with my lovely family. xx

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 30, 2015 11:49 am

    turning 40 was the hardest birthday of my life, total denial and I just didn’t cope, my boss said he’d never seen any struggle so much with just a number – I didn’t celebrate it and just hated every second of it – but I’m 43 now and finally comfortable with it. Try enjoy the approach to it and the celebration of it when I look back I wish I had.

Leave a Reply

