Skip to content

So its been a while….

November 2, 2015

2 months, maybe more…. and I am feeling the need to write again.

1/ Our NEW house…. we have moved. Finally! After a long 12 week settlement the day finally arrived. In fact we have been here for 2 weeks now. The move went well, and at no time did we feel like we were never moving again… I think the 12 weeks helped a lot for this, as we had plenty of time to be well organised and ready to go. Also, owning two homes at one {a country manor and a city residence 😉 } really helped in making everything run smoothly. We had plenty of time to not only empty and clean one house, but had enough time to clean and fill another. I was over the cleaning bit at the the end though, I will admit!

2/ Our OLD house…. is still unsettled – $$$ wise. Lots of very stressful issues with the conveyancer in getting all the right paperwork to the right offices has made this part of house buying/moving very yukky. So to paraphrase a long winded and winding story – we are in breach of contract due to the fact we cannot supply the ‘goods’ that have been promised, are stuck in the middle and have no blame what-so-ever butt can’t do jack shit about it, and so we made the decision late last week to grant a ‘Licence to Occupy’… meaning the purchasers can move in before they have paid for the house.
It is not what we wanted to do, but didn’t really want to risk losing the buyers of our house if they pulled out of the sale due to the breach of contract…..seeing how we DO have two homes under bridging finance… and a hefty double mortgage!

So now all we can do, and it is all we have ever been able to do, is wait for the professionals to do their job…. and if they had done their job in the first place we would not be in this mess. Ahem. We hope all this business is concluded sometime late this week, and we will be back to one mortgage, one home and a life a little less stress filled!

I do often think that I will look back at this time and shake my head and smile at the craziness of it all….. I KNOW that will happen later on…but for now  – it sucks!

3/ Our NEW town…. from only living here for two weeks we are settling in quite well. There are some things that will take  a bit to get used to… night time noises are weird, it’s very dark with minimal street lighting, our mail is in the post box at the post office (1.3km away) and it is a lot quieter.
But there are some lovely things too – being able to walk the kids to school which is only 800mt away and takes 10 mins to walk, the quiet mornings, sitting out the back of our place with a cup of coffee while pondering life is pretty nice, the neighbours kids come and go and play and stay and the view’s when I am out walking. It’s all pretty nice really. It is going to take a bit more time to really feel part of the community, but we are working on that by being as active and out and about as much as possible, saying hello and joining groups – it’s hard meeting new people but it’ll happen.

Here are a few pics from around the place….

IMG_5938

Fields and a sunrise

IMG_5939

The long straight country roads – just have to remember to pay attention to cars…

IMG_5940

Roo’s in a field – I think they live there.

Health:

So – there is too much time gone by to re-cap all that has been going on – so I will begin again. Kinda like a new start… fresh house/fresh start. Always is a good time to shake up a routine I think!

Having left my gym, and WW, before we moved I knew that being up here would be good to begin again some of my old ways of being active and healthy. I am going to list them here and will check in in 6months time to see if I have succeeded in my shake up..

1/ I want to walk more. This is something I never fail at – I love to walk, I love to listen to podcasts while walking, I love to look at the world around me while walking. I love longer walks and am aiming to try out some of the local walking tracks like the Mawson trail and some walks in Mt Crawford forest, but when I cannot be bothered doing anything strenuous I know I can do a quick walk to check the mail box {2.6km there and back} and always will feel much better about myself in general.

2/ Join a workout group – and I have…Bootcamp! started this morning at Woodside at 6am.. it goes for 7 weeks, 2x per week. Will discuss this more tomorrow….

3/ I want to ride my bike more –  and there is a fantastic bike track – the Amy Gillett Bikeway, only 7km away {in the next town}, that is purpose built using the old railway line and very very scenic!

4/ I want to do more home workouts…we have all the equipment needed, its minimal, but I am sure that it is all I would need. The girls would love it if I did this, and would join in… and for my 11yr old… it would be a big help for her confidence, her fitness skills and for keeping her active and moving.

5/ I want to menu plan each week again. Now that all my cookbooks and recipe books are unpacked I plan on getting the old system back up and running. Also, we want to go on a rather large, once-in-a-lifetime holiday at the end of next year… so budgeting in almost back in action {once the damn house settles that is..}.

6/ I want to be more organised in cooking good healthy food and in eating that good food. I want to take my own food with me more often too – as this is where I often ‘fall of the wagon’ and eat food that makes me feel rotten. More planning and being organised each week can only lead to this occurring.

I think that is all there is to assisting my future healthy me… I will check in again in 6 months to see how I am going!

But for now, I need to hop up out of this computer chair and begin my day….

One Comment leave one →
  1. Plum permalink
    November 2, 2015 12:58 pm

    Looks and sounds like a lovely place to live 🙂

Leave a Reply

