Skip to content

linking: Thoughtful Thursdays

January 30, 2015

I have not participated in one of these before…. but I like it and hope to keep it up.

I read this on the blog ‘All the Weigh’ written by Kenlie, who I have been reading for sometime now.

Thoughtful Thursdays on All the Weigh

Go to http://alltheweigh.com/2015/01/thoughtful-thursdays-where-i-live/ if your keen to do the same and remember to link it to her blog via the comments.

Where I Live

1. Where do you currently live? I live in Adelaide, South Australia, Australia.

2. Have you lived in your current state throughout your entire life? No – I have moved around quite a bit, due to a parent in the Navy, and traveling around Australia when we were in our early 20’s.

3. If you answered no to Question 2, then where else have you lived? I have lived in New South Wales, Canberra, Victoria, Northern Territory and Queensland – so all the Aussie States/Territories except Western Australia.

4. What is the coolest thing about your city/town? Adelaide is considered small when comparing to the cities in the Eastern states – but I like it. There is always a 2-3 point of separation, you will always, always know someone similar. I like the casualness of the place, that you don’t have to be a high flyer to be able to afford to live, that you can be a one income family and survive, that you can wear what you want regardless of fashion, that it is only a 40 min drive from the city out in all directions until you are at the “end” of the city outer limits. The beach is 20 mins from my house – the hills 20mins the other way.
I just love the weather too – Hot and dry in summer… cold, but not freezing in winter.

5. Are there any holidays that your state goes all out to celebrate? If so, tell us about it. Australia Day is huge here, well for all of Australia in general, it is on January 26th – so right in the hot part of summer, people BBQ at home and at parks, listen to the Triple J Hottest 100 {Radio station top 100  songs of the year countdown}, relax and sit in/by a pool. Public Holidays {PH} are a big deal here too – we have 13 of them over the year – and they are a welcome break from the usual routine. They are PH for the Queens Birthday, Easter, Anzac Day, Labour Day, Australia Day, Christmas Day and others. We love em! And not just for the time off work, but also for the pay – if you work it is generally paid at double time and a half on a PH! Woo hoo.

6. Describe your neighborhood (climate, scenery, etc.) I live about 9km from the Central Business District, in a new suburb that was once a paddock on the outskirts of the city – It has only been built on in the last 10 years, the suburbs and home surrounding our estate are 30+ years old. We are high on a hill, there is a creek that runs past our house {way below us}, aptly named Dry Creek, for South Australia is the driest state in the driest continent. Our average rainfall is 553 mm, with June being the wettest at 80mm. So not much rain falls here. There is a great walkway that runs along this creek line, we walk and ride it often.
We have four definate seasons here – HOT in summer, Autumn is cooler and we have great displays of colourful leaves, Winter is cold but not freezing, Spring is fresh and lovely – with the anticipation of summer.

7. What do you wish you could change most about the place you live? I wish I had a bigger back garden, with more room for the kids to run and play in – I also wish that it was not on such main roads, so we could know the kids are safe to ride their bikes to school.

8. Describe your home. What’s your favorite thing about it?  I live in a 10 year old house, it is built in the current style that Aussies love – single story, big open plan living/kitchen  – back yard that is made for entertaining. I love that this house is new, and had all the mod cons  – I hate the small yard that comes with new house blocks.

9. Where do you shop for groceries? We shop at Foodland a locally owned supermarket chain…. Woolworth and Coles Myer are the other two main players or Duopoly, they are big and money hungry, and have bought up most of the outlining businesses – service stations, liquor shops, farms etc. I hate that. I try to buy local foods where I can, I try also to buy Fruit and veg at the local growers markets.

10.. What is your favorite regular activity in your city/town? We go to the beach quite often, as it is only ‘down the road’. Our beaches are sandy and lovely, the water is cool but not freezing and the waves are small – it is perfect for a walk or a quick splash. I love being there! One day I will live near a beach.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2015 5:05 am

    I love the insight to living in Australia! The PH double time and a half is quite the perk!

    • March 30, 2015 2:22 pm

      Thanks for stopping by – I really enjoyed talking about where I live… it is a lovely place to be!

  2. lalalyssablog permalink
    February 7, 2015 4:25 am

    What a fun perspective on Aussie living! Came over from the All the Weigh link up 🙂

  3. Lisa permalink
    February 9, 2015 2:05 pm

    HI, stopping in from Thoughtful Thursdays! Your area sounds lovely. I like being near to both city & non-city too!

    I am intrigued with your comment about a parent in the navy. I was in the US Navy myself & can’t help but imagine the similarities & differences!

    • March 30, 2015 2:25 pm

      Thanks for coming over to see my blog. My dad was mainly in the Navy when I was under 6 yrs old, so not a huge impact on me from what I remember, but when I was 11 he re-joined up and it was a horrible time, we all (4 kids) hated leaving family and friends. He only lasted 11 months that time and had to leave due to family pressures. In retrospect, he did a wonderful thing giving up his career for us kids/family and our happiness.

Leave a Reply

