Skip to content

Day one on FODMAPS…

July 28, 2014

You know I could link all the info here….but I have little time… so I will just do a quick copy paste…. from the Monash University Website.

The Monash University Low FODMAP diet

The research team at Monash University have developed a diet to control gastrointestinal symptoms associated with IBS/FGID. The team has focused on a group of carbohydrates they have named FODMAPs (stands for Fermentable Oligo-saccharides, Disaccharides, Mono-saccharides and Polyols).

FODMAPs can be poorly absorbed in the small intestine. Mal-absorbed carbohydrates are fermented by gut bacteria to produce gas. Current research strongly suggests that this group of carbohydrates contributes to IBS/FGID symptoms. FODMAPs are found in a wide range of foods.

~~

Anyways, I have known I was going to start today for around 2-3 weeks and have been working and planning it all. I will have to come back and write up more – but for now I knew it was coming and was ready, and it was not all that hard. Tomorrow may be harder.

Day 1:

B: Lactose free milk and yogurt, banana smoothie

S: Strawberries – Rooibos tea.

L: Brown rice, tuna with salsa , raw green beans and red capsicum. Dressing: 1 t olive oil, 1 t lemon juice, pepper.

S: Avocado (1/4) spread on rice cakes, with 15g cheese. Rooibos tea x2

D: Steak, steamed potato, ratatouille (zucchini, capsicum, eggplant, tinned tomatoes)

S: Tea, 4 Rice crackers, 2 banana bread macaroons., green tea.

~~

Notes on today’s eating:

I  no heartburn until 4pm!!!! Until I had the cheese…so that is out now 😦

Oh and the tuna – it had onions – oops didn’t read that label.

~~

Ps: I am following the 6 week FODMAP elimination plan, as well as eliminating more foods that give me grief with heartburn and reflux – such as Cheese (def. now), coffee, chocolate, margarine, butter – and probably more as I go along. :/

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

