Skip to content

that new gym….

January 9, 2013

I went! Its called Transform Group Fitness Studio and I was so excited that I went half hour early. No, not really that excited, I just read the timetable wrong – or  it could of been those tricky to read xcel spread sheets online…

But anyway, I liked it, and here is why;

*Its on a strange quiet street not far from here {the closeness ticks a box for me}, which in winter and the early darkness could be a bit daunting – I will just have to remember to not hang around for long after the classes.

*The owner/instructor seems lovely, a little disorganised/ too casual maybe… but her friendly, funky workout style is enough for me to get over my own crazy need for order {the way she interacted so well with everyone of every size was another tick}.

*The price is right up my alley – one fee for all, no joining fee, no contract {big big ticks for all three}

*Everyone seemed friendly and chatty, people chatted with me easily and even waved goodbye {meeting new workout friends….tick}

*The music was very loud {I kept asking J when I got home if I was yelling as my hearing felt muffled…} but it was super funky – and one goal this year is to dance more {so that is a tick}

*The classes varied and different from what I have been doing, they even have Bokwa {Go here to check out just what I am blathering about – I will report back when I have done a class :)} – and there is a good mix of styles in hourly sessions each morning/evening ie; boxing followed by Zumba {which I like for an extra long workout that can be tough followed by fun and rhythm}

So all up, while going there had me wondering just what the heck I had got myself into – from the warehouse style, open floor plan of the gym to the above ground temporary back yard pool right in the doorway to having little idea what I was doing moves wise in the Zumba class – I still felt like I was welcome {she had me come in half way though the boxing class and begin right then rather than sitting round for half hour} and in a place that I could enjoy working out in.

I am signing up, I will be paying my fortnightly payment of $40.00 { a little dearer than my old gym but still a great price!} and I will be getting my grove on doing both Zumba and Bokwa frequently :mrgreen:

Stayed tuned for results…. groove wise and fitness wise!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. bubblymel permalink
    January 10, 2013 8:45 am

    Yay!! Sounds great!! It is always a little daunting starting somewhere new!! Which reminds me I need to go cancel my gy membership!! Why oh why can’t they just fax something to me!!!

    • January 10, 2013 12:27 pm

      yes Mel – ring and cancel! One sure way to blow a stack of money on nothing.

      • bubblymel permalink
        January 10, 2013 4:03 pm

        I can’t ring!! I have to go in there!!!

      • bubblymel permalink
        January 11, 2013 8:38 am

        All cancelled!! 🙂

      • January 11, 2013 9:06 am

        Yah!

  2. Jane permalink
    January 10, 2013 9:03 am

    Sounds pretty funky Leanne, you go girl!

  3. January 10, 2013 11:54 am

    My friend goes to bokwa there and I’ve been meaning to go with her. I’ll be the uncoordinated, fat, sweaty one having a ball:)

    • January 10, 2013 12:29 pm

      It seems pretty good Sarah, I have yet to try the Bokwa (school holi’s prevention program in full swing). I am sure we will both do well….

Leave a Reply

