Skip to content

Weigh In Wed.

November 2, 2012

That cob dip that I ate {twice} this week sure did show up on the scales on Wed. Actually I have been feeling bloated and heavy all week, and even when curling my toes they have felt thick and strange – so I know that there was some serious fluid retention happening. I also knew a gain was going to show due to the fact that I could see a double chin easily – its my first sign that I have a bit extra hanging around 🙂

Anyway – so the numbers showed a 1.2kg increase since the last time I weighed {two weeks ago}, but I am cool with that. I don’t like it, but those numbers don’t get me down as much as they used to years ago. I know now that this is for life what I am doing, exercising, watching what I eat, paying attention to portion sizes and sugar/salt/fat quantities – especially if I wish to remain at this size or less. I know if it is fluid it will slowly go, and I know that if it is actual weight gain then it will also slowly go too. I just cant stop now – for the numbers only go up if I do.

So I came home from WW and had a healthy meal, opened my tracker to a fresh page and kept on going.

I also have switched back to tracking Weight Watchers Pro Points – not sure why but I felt like a change.  I generally switch back and forth between calorie counting and PP – mainly due to boredom or changing things up to try to shake this weight-holding-onto body into some action.

So my daily PP’s are 26 – which on day 1 seems like such a chore… to keep that low but then after a day or two, you realise that adding more veggies into meals is the key {they are Opp} keeping you fuller and more satisfied and that really is never a bad thing.

Fruit is also Opp… which is hard to get used to, but having done calories counting for a long time also, I know how high in cals they can be – so I try to keep to only 2-3 pieces a day, and use veg as my fillers.

Which do I find easier??? Both have their pro’s and con’s….

Weight Watchers Pro Points – Yes to no counting fruit and veg! Making meals easy to count but then having to work out the PP of other food items –meat/protien, carbs, processed foods – can be a chore – as it is very hard to guess what it could be, as the calculations for the PP is worked out on 4 main parts of the product Protein, Carbs, Fat and Fibre. Although by using all four of these gives a good overview of the nutritional content of the food, especially if you are easily confused by those nutritional panels.

Calorie Counting – Yes to being able to see straight away on the nutritional label what the calories are, but you can easily ignore the fat/sugar/salt levels and this can be a big trap. Also having to count/measure/weight each vegetable and piece of fruit to be able to track it can be a bit of a pain sometimes, but it can be surprising at just how quickly your calorie count can add up when consuming too much fruit!

So both have their merits, and amazingly when doing both in tandem… they add up to very similar numbers – 26pp comes in at around 1150-1300 cals. So considering that you count fruit in one and not the other they still come up similar – just shows how balanced the PP system can be {you still need to watch you fruit intake though!}. This is why I switch from one to the other – when one style suits my lifestyle at the time then I go for it, for I dont lose weight quickly no matter which one I do. Its just the way my body works I guess.

Anyway – I am off to make up a roast beef and danish fetta salad – OMGoodness I am so looking forward to it – and then onto a friends for a cuppa.

Have a lovely day!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    November 2, 2012 2:34 pm

    I love calorie counting, it really makes you aware of portion sizes and calories in what you eat, making you realise where you go wrong, and how you probably put the weight on in the first place, but you have to be so organised though with your meal plans and food in your fridge/cupboards to make it work, you can’t go home and go ‘mmm whats for dinner’ or be at work with out your lunch, I’m calorie counting at the moment to lose a few kg’s, and I’m enjoying it, as I think it doesn’t restrict you like other diets, if you really want something you can have it as long as you count it, so I don’t feel deprived of something like if I want some wine, or a bit of chocolate, as long as I’ve counted for it. WW sounds confusing…

    • November 2, 2012 5:57 pm

      It is something you get used to… and there is a handy WW calculator that actually works out the PP for you, and books. But yes can be confusing at first 🙂
      Keep up the good work, I am sure that by watching what you are eating will help you to be fitter and stronger than before!

Leave a Reply

