Skip to content

Thinking about Vanuatu…

October 31, 2012

Thank goodness I slept a bit better last night, as I had given up watching ‘Survivor’ to go to bed early! Dont panic though… I DVR’ed it – so I now have something to watch while eating my lunch.

Although in bed early, and tired from a workout and swim, I still had trouble falling asleep at 10:30, so I read until 11:10 hoping that would make me drowsy {nope}, so I just put the book down and turned on my iphone app “Sleep Pillow”    {of which I have paid for the full version} and listened to my favourite sound – Waves gently rolling in.

When we holidayed at Erakor Island Resort, Port Vila, Vanuatu in 2007 for my sister in laws wedding we stayed in a villa that was right on the lagoon – and this was our view…

Heavenly view

GLORIOUS!

It is a tidal lagoon, and has only small little waves that wash in gently – and we slept with our door open each night to hear those waves. If I have my ‘waves’ on at night I can lie in bed and be in that happy place in a heartbeat.

Sigh.

Puts me right to sleep each time.

and it worked.

I woke easily, and not groggily, before my alarm too – so I would say that my sleep pattern may well be on the way to recovery.

~~~

I did that workout yesterday that I was talking about.

Well not exactly as Michelle Bridges advised, for I was feeling bloated and heavy and tired, my feet were swollen and I was having a boo-hoo moment. I had also waited until the kids were picked up from school to begin it – and working out at 4pm takes a huge amount of effort for an early morning exerciser like me…

But I sucked it up and promised myself that swim after as a reward.

So once the kids were in the pool, I started off on mum’s treadmill {conveniently located on the other side of the doors that lead out to the pool} and this is what I did…

  • 5 min walk – warm up
  • 2 min run
  • 1.5 min walk
  • 10 low squats
  • 10 push-up on knees
  • 10 full sit ups
  • Repeated 4x
  • 5 min walk – cool down

It was only a 35 minute workout – but I did it, and was elated to have pushed through another boo-hoo-I-have-a-big-bulging-tummy-and-its-never-going-to-go-away moment, to finish the workout. I was a hot, sweaty mess by the end and the pool was a delicious cool off.

It was my first swim of the summer! Can’t wait to swim regularly, and have been formulating a plan to swim there more often on my own during the day, sneaky but fun!

~~~

Tracking:

Yesterday I hit 30days in a row tracking my food. And I have tracked each of those days, not just logged in!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bubblymel permalink
    October 31, 2012 1:48 pm

    Oooh! I think I might try that workout tonight!!

  2. October 31, 2012 2:24 pm

    yeah it was a good one… I even cranked the treadmill up to 9 and ran a minute at it – which is an improvement for me!

Trackbacks

  1. Looking forward to some Girl Time! « Trying to be a Yummy Mummy!

Leave a Reply

