Skip to content

Crapola

January 31, 2012

Last night while hopping into bed to read my great new book {Diana Gabaldon “Drangonfly in Amber”} I accidentally knelt on my kindle and heard it go POP.

I had placed it on the bed, turned back the covers {over it} and promptly knelt on it when climbing in.

This is how I felt
😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦 😦

I cried at bit, at my own stupidity

then I turned off the light, pulled the quilt over my head and sulked at my carelessness. Something I am hardly ever. Careless that is.

Money as you know if you read this blog, is tight round here. So that Kindle was hard earned and loved by all the family. I can buy another…. but I think going without for a while will be a good punishment reminder to be more careful with my things. I tell the kids this all the time. And should practice what I preach.

Here is a photo of it – ink splayed everywhere.

See the 'explosion' in the right hand corner

~~~

Health:

I did manage to set an early alarm, even after all the disapointment of last night. And I got up.

Unfortunately though, after J had finished trying to fix looking at my kindle he left it on the end of our bed on wooden foot-end thingo, on my side, turned face up. So it was something I saw almost as soon as I woke up.

😦

Enter those feelings again of how dumb I was. Lets just say its not a great way to start a workout.

I did 15mins on the Elliptical, 20mins walking and called it a day. Burning 365 cals. Better than sleeping in, but certainly nothing fabulous about it.

~

Lunch I photographed again. this is becoming a habit.

carrot, snow pea, celery, hummus, boiled egg, multigrain salada with Pbutter

I enjoyed it all except the egg and the Hummus.

I ate all the veggies, but only half the egg as it had a funny smell and taste. Which I tasted on the first 1/4, but tried another to see if I was imagining. Nope. I thought perhaps that they are too old, use by March 1st, hmm.

I made the Hummus last night after being inspired by Frugal and thriving’s blog post , and after using 1/4 of a can in yesterdays lunch.

Now normally I am not the Hummus maker in this family. Living with a chef has tot to have some perks right??? But I thought I would give it a go. I lowered all the ingredients in the recipe due to not having a full can of chick-peas, and only used 10ml of olive oil. It tastes okay… but I still like the chefs better. I think its the olive oil flava I dont like.

Its something I will have to work on I think.

Or perhaps its me today. What with the kindle and all.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jane permalink
    January 31, 2012 3:57 pm

    Bummer about your Kindle, but I still love reading a novel on the bus, rather than reading electronically, I read about 2 books a week, thanks to working around the corner from the Grote St Library, take your kids to the library each week and you can all borrow books. I have a great tasty easy healthy hommous recipe, I’ll message it to you give it a go see what you think, there is so many recipes, and this one doesn’t have tahini in it, which I love but rarely have a jar off at home.

  2. January 31, 2012 6:57 pm

    RIP your kindle.

    I love hummus. I’m having a break from my homemade one though because I think I made it too often. Your lunch looks so amazing. Pity about the stinky egg.

Leave a Reply

