Skip to content

Its here…

January 30, 2012

Today is the day I have thought about, dreamed about and worried about.

Off to school, and looking so gorgeous!!

~~~

Health:

I am going to include more ‘health’ in this blog, as it suggests in the title. I am always working on my health and often feel like its not that interesting to talk about. But I need to, to keep me motivated and interested. Which is the reason for this blog after all 🙂

Straight after school drop off, class room checking out, bag locker finding and a quick sit down on the matt for role call… I kissed the kids and the husband good bye and headed to the gym.

I did the Step/Pump class {half hour of each} and it was a fasty.

My heart rate stayed well up in the 160’s for most of the first half, and even spiked up to 175 at one point. We were going strong on our steps.

‘Pump’ is growing on me. I like this quick half hour class, and may even graduate to the full hour one day. I am getting {slightly} stronger too – for today I used the 2.5kg weights on the barbell, instead of the 1.25kg I have used for the last 3 wks.

I stayed then for the half hour stretch class. Loved it! Nothing strenuous, just relaxing. Todays focus was on mobility of joints. My joint mobility is so so… and I could definately do more daily exercises to improve!

Total time was 1.5hrs, and I burnt 694 cals! Although I did stop my HR watch 10mins into the stretch class, as I figured this was beneficial in it own right, and the extra 50-60 cals would be a bonus :mrgreen:

I am thinking too of joining up to the gyms 8wk challenge. I would love the extra push a challenge gives, and I know it will help me achieve my goal of ‘ back to goal weight this year’. I need all the help I can get on it.

The cost is $150.00, and in light of our frugal year I am struggling with that, but I do have a birthday coming up, and what better way to spend b’day money but on me and my health…. right??

~~~

Lunch:

I do not know why.. but I find this meal to be the hardest, least inspiring one of the day. So much so that I struggle to know what to eat each day and so have to write up a weeks worth of ideas, and even that I loathe.

In the past I have just winged it most days, and this is probably where my undoing is in my eating… I go steadily downhill from a pick-at-this-pick-at-that-lunch.

I want to get more organised in keeping nice recipes and ideas, and have started a list {love ’em} that I hope will keep the inspiration flowing and the snacking on crap to a minimum.

And starting this all today I found that lunch was delish!!

I had brown rice left over from last nights tea. This is another idea I am going with, using leftovers within the meal. After a quick google search of ‘brown rice recipes’  THIS one caught my eye {as shopping day is tomorrow and I have only limited ingredients}.

Here is my photo of it.

But… there is always a but  – I only made this for one, using half cup brown rice and 65g chickpeas. I also added some zucchini and mushroom when I cooked the onion and garlic. I had no basil or marjoram, so just put in Ground Corriander instead.

It was a very tasty, low calorie , high fibre meal – and could be made better by adding yogurt {only thought of that then :damn:} or putting in a wrap with some chicken. Or it would be great served as a side dish to meat or fish.

Very nice indeed, and the recipe I printed is headed straight for my new folder for lunch ideas 🙂

~~~

Well its time to head off, as my 6hrs is dwindling down, with only 45mins remaining!! How fast was that!!

But I have accomplished everything I wanted to today:

  • Menu plan
  • Shopping list
  • Phonecalls/errands
  • Gym
  • Eat a healthy lunch

Success.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 2:32 pm

    Your girls look gorgeous!

    I love brown rice mixed with greek yoghurt. Yum. It’s great you’ve done everything on your list so far. Time to relax!

  2. bubblymel permalink
    January 31, 2012 1:52 pm

    Oh that looks yum! Love Chick peas!

Leave a Reply

