Skip to content

Oh Dr Google – are you free?

September 23, 2010

I know – Dr Google…  but s/he is so correct – how could you not believe? 🙂

I have been having alot of pain from heartburn in the past few days. Normally it comes from eating food high in saturated fats, and tends to disappear quickly – but if I follow up that meal and further days with other foods also high in saturated fats – the ‘burn’ stays with me for ages.

This lot has come from eating that S&P squid at the stirling the other night, and is still sticking round. I feel that my diet has been ok, well maybe not brilliant – but certainly not having that much saturated fat to keep fueling the fire. Anyway its gotten bad enough for people to start suggesting probable causes – like an ulcer or perhaps gall bladder. So I did some research and from what I can tell (did I mention that I have done a PhD in my spare time??? ;)) its probably not gall bladder, and perhaps not an ulcer. But it could be GERD. Which is this> & yes…I took it straight outta wiki;

Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), gastro-oesophageal reflux disease (GORD), gastric reflux disease, or acid reflux disease is defined as chronic symptoms or mucosal damage produced by the abnormal reflux of stomach acid to the esophagus.[1] A typical symptom is heartburn.

I have made an appointment with a real doctor on Monday to check out what is going on – cos it is driving me NUTS.  The heartburn is now after every little thing that I eat or drink and quick-eze does nothing.

I also looked up what to do naturally to stop it – and of course its diet… and this is the list of foods they recommend for you not to eat!

  • Spicy foods
  • Citrus fruits and juices
  • Vinegar
  • Garlic
  • Fatty foods
  • Coffee
  • Carbonated drinks (sodas)
  • Tomatoes
  • Garlic
  • Black peppers
  • Chillies (hot and spicy capsicums)
  • Alcoholic beverages
  • Fatty foods
  • Foods high in sugar
  • Bread
  • Raw onions

Which apart from the Fatty foods, alcohol and high in sugar stuff is pretty much my diet! I need tomatoes to make a pasta, I need spices to flavour my non fatty foods, I need garlic and onion and pepper to do the same! And some softdrink is a fun change from drinking water all day.

But I dont want to take tablets just so that I can eat/drink this stuff – so I after my app. on Monday I will look at cutting this stuff out and re-introducing slowly to see what gets me. I cant cut it all out! That would make life seriously un-fun.

….

Exercise today: None.

I was so tired from my big ride yesterday…oh not sure I have said it – but I rode into town and back yesterday, around 22kms, so today I had a rest day.

Food: Tracked well today, gotten to 22 points – 1 over my allocated. but still good.

….

My news on becoming a WW leader is now a reality.

The last 3 days have been spent in training, reading thick manuals and watching fascinating HR DVD’s.

I was introduced to my new meeting, and then planned and took a meeting in the city – where I was assessed by my area manager. I was pretty nervous, but I have been standing up in front of people performing my whole life… thanks to the Scout Gang Shows, so really I was not all that bad. The assessor told me I did a great job and  passed me the first time 😀

So I am officially a Weight Watchers Leader! Yah.

I begin working on Monday as I have an ‘At Work’ meeting of my own to run, and then tuesday nights.

I gotta run – the kids are being yelled at alot!! time to be a mum again…..

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

